LibGuides: Middle Grades Resources: General Middle Grades Resources

Middle Grades Educator Association

Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE)
Association for Middle Level Education is a membership organization dedicated to helping middle school educators reach every student, grow professionally, and create great schools. They do this by empowering educators to create opportunities to cultivate the potential and possibilities of young adolescents. Their work is guided by our core value that all young adolescents deserve an education.

Middle Grades eBooks

You can search for materials by their title, author, or keyword. You can narrow your search to books or ebooks by selecting "Book/eBook" on the left sidebar on the search page, and then selecting "Library Catalog" (for physical books) or "Full Text Online" (for ebooks).

When looking for books, try narrowing down your results by searching more than one keyword - for example, if you're trying to find research about using math puzzles to boost student engagement in the classroom, searching "(math puzzles) AND (engagement)" will give you more specific results than just searching "math puzzles".

Use the search box below to search for materials in the Relay library catalog!

The Encyclopedia of Middle Grades Education by Steven B. Mertens; Micki M. Caskey; Nancy Flowers
Publication Date: 2017-01-01

The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive overview of the field; it contains alphabetically organized entries that address important concepts, ideas, terms, people, organizations, publications, and research studies specifically related to middle grades education.
Equity and Cultural Responsiveness in the Middle Grades by Kathleen Brinegar; Lisa Harrison; Ellis Hurd
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

This Handbook volume explores research relating to equity and culturally responsive practices when working with young adolescents. Middle school philosophy largely centers on young adolescents as a collective group. This lack of focus has great implications for young adolescents of marginalized identities including but not limited to those with culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds, LGBTQ youth, and those living in poverty. If middle level educators claim to advocate for young adolescents, we need to mainstream conversations about supporting all young adolescents of marginalized identities.
Empowering Struggling Readers by Leigh A. Hall; Leslie D. Burns; Elizabeth Carr Edwards
Publication Date: 2010-11-28

This book provides classroom-tested methods for engaging struggling middle grade readers--even those who appear to have given up--and fostering their success. The emphasis is on constructing respectful, encouraging learning environments that incorporate students' diverse literacies, cultural interests, and prior knowledge and skills into instruction.
Strategic Reading Groups by Jennifer Berne; Sophie C. Degener
Publication Date: 2012-03-02

Differentiated reading instruction: An effective model for the middle gradesStrategic grouping can transform reading instruction in the middle grades from a hit-or-miss learning experience to a targeted, responsive one. This book features a practical and field-tested model for small-group differentiated reading instruction in Grades 4-8.
Formative Assessment in United States Classrooms by Cathy Box
Publication Date: 2018-12-28

This book examines the history of formative assessment in the US and explores its potential for changing the landscape of teaching and learning to meet the needs of twenty-first century learners. The author uses case studies to illuminate the complexity of teaching and the externally imposed and internally constructed contextual elements that affect assessment decision-making.
Assessment As Learning by Lorna M. Earl
Publication Date: 2012-12-04

This book features discussions of the complex nature of learning Ways to use formative assessment in a variety of contexts, real-life examples and case studies of assessment in action, sample rubrics and lesson plans for easy implementation Ideas, and insights into common classroom dilemmas along with viable solutions.

Research Journals

Research journals differ from practitioner journals in that they typically feature original scholarly work. Articles are more likely to be primary sources, featuring the methods and results of a study conducted by the author(s). Research journals are almost always peer-reviewed.

American Journal of Education (1996-1 year ago)
Original articles and book reviews about the theory, methodology, and philosophy of education.
Current Issues in Middle Level Education (2019-Present)
CIMLE is committed to the dissemination of research-based, best-practices articles based on the Association of Middle Level Education's position statement on the professional preparation of middle level teachers.
Middle Grades Research Journal (2006-Present)
Provides empirical and theoretical studies that focus on middle grades education.
Middle Grades Review (2015-Present)
Middle Grades Review provides a provocative forum for debate within the field of middle grades education. Inviting a critical perspective, the Review is a peer-reviewed, open access venue for scholars and practitioners who wish to broaden the discourse of middle grades education by challenging conventional wisdom.
Middle School Journal (1997-Present)
Middle School Journal , a refereed journal, is an official publication and a Professional Membership benefit of the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE). Published five times per year, the journal offers articles that promote quality middle level education and contribute to an understanding of the educational and developmental needs of youth between the ages of 10 and 15.
Research in Middle Level Education Online (2003-Present)
Publishes research syntheses, integrative reviews & interpretations of research literature, case studies, action-research & data-based qualitative & quantitative studies.

Search Scopes

The library search also uses "search scopes" that you can use to limit your search to a small selection of journals. Use this targeted search to explore a topic within a specific content area, grade level, or topic. It is similar to filtering by subject, but focuses on a small set of high quality journals. For example, looking for literacy strategies within elementary, or social emotional learning in science or math. Note that since these limit to a small set of journals you won't always find every topic. Remember to use the "All" setting to search the entire library.

	Scholarly Article or Journal
	Book or eBook
	Website, Blog, or Online Resource
	Classroom or Curriculum Materials
	Audio File
	Video File