Birth-Grade 12 Learning Standards

Includes current and previous standards for all content, Spanish standards, career technical standards, model school library standards, fine arts and world languages.

Visit chapters 3 to 18 to find standards by grade. California also uses a modified version of Common Core standards; the Common Core Standards for literacy in SS, science and technical subjects can be found here.

This publication presents 28 foundations in four domains that describe the competencies that infants and toddlers typically attain in the first three years of life. Click on each link to see competencies in social emotional development, language development, cognitive development, and perceptual and motor development.

These documents cover the skills and knowledge that children attain at 3 and 4 years old. Visit Volume 1 for the domains of social-emotional development, language and literacy, English-language development, and mathematics. Visit Volume 2 the domain areas of visual and performing arts, physical development, and health. Visit Volume 3 for the domain areas of history–social science and science.

The CCSS for English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects were adapted by CA to increase the rigor. See the table of contents on page iv (page 5 of the PDF). The original Common Core standards can be found here

California has adapted the Common Core State Standards to provide additional rigor. The state provides this PDF standards guide for mathematics; see page iv (page 5 of the PDF) for a table of contents to find standards by grade and course.

This state has adopted the Common Core English Language Arts Standards. To find standards by grade, click on the domains in the table of contents, and then click on the appropriate grade level. Note that "Reading: Foundational Skills" only has standards for grades K-5.

This state has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards. Use the filters to find standards by grade level and/or content area.

An interactive toolkit for searching through the standards through grade-level, content, and keywords.

Interactive search toolkit to find the standards by content area and grade level.
Includes: comprehensive health, computer science, dance, drama & theatre arts, music, physical education, visual arts, and world languages.

Birth to Age 3 starts on page 22; Ages 3 to 5 starts on page 77; Kindergarten to 3rd grade starts on page 116. A Table of Contents can be found on pages 3-4.

The state provides this PDF standards guide for mathematics; P-5 starts on page 11 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 92, and 9-12 starts on page 133. Implementation modules, alternative formats, and community guides can be found here.

The state provides this PDF version of the ELA standards. P-5 starts on page 12 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 96, and 9-12 begins on page 137. PDF or DOC versions of the standards by grade level, curriculum design tools, competency guides, and a standards toolkit can be found here.

In 2018, CDE adopted the NGSS to become the CAS for Science without adopting the 4th standard (engineering) and full implementation of the science standards will take place in the 2021-22 school year. The state provides this PDF guide of the standards. P-5 starts on page 10 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 68, and 9-12 begins on page 115.
Implementation timelines, curriculum design tools, standards toolkit and community guides can be found here.

2020 PDF guide of standards across content and grade levels. The state provides this PDF guide of the standards. P-5 starts on page 8 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 70, and 9-12 begins on page 99. Additional information and implementation resources can be found here.

The purpose of dance education in preschool through high school is to educate students in dance as an art form and a physical practice. Implementation modules, alternative formats, and community guides can be found here.

These standards outline the knowledge and skills needed by all Colorado citizens to participate productively in an increasingly creative economy and innovative society. Implementation modules, alternative formats, and community guides can be found here.

The standards, grade level expectation and evidence outcomes are stated broadly so that they can be specifically applicable to many different schools, classrooms and learning environments. Implementation modules, alternative formats, and community guides can be found here.

A strong and clear sense of the theatre process, which takes the creative theatrical act from inception to completion, teaches the importance of initiative, follow-through, and responsibility. Implementation modules, alternative formats, and community guides can be found here.

Colorado's comprehensive health and physical education standards lay out a vision for these vitally important disciplines, and describe what all students should know and be able to do at each grade level through eighth grade and in high school. Implementation modules, alternative formats, and community guides can be found here.

Information and links to all CT state standards can be found here.

This state has adopted the Common Core English Language Arts Standards. To find standards by grade, click on the domains in the table of contents, and then click on the appropriate grade level. Note that "Reading: Foundational Skills" only has standards for grades K-5.

This state has adopted the Common Core Mathematics Standards. Click on the links in the table of contents to view standards by grade level or course.

PDF guide of standards adopted in 2014. Additional information and resources can be found here.

PDF guide of CELP standards. Additional information and resources can be found here.

Includes framework documents and standards for K-3 ELA, Math, Science, Social Studies, PE and Heath.

This state has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards. Use the filters to find standards by grade level and/or content area.

PDF guide of SS standards. Visit page 4 for a table of contents to find standards by grade level.

CT uses the National Arts Standards which include dance, theatre, visual and media arts, and music.

The CSDE’s Healthy and Balanced Living Curriculum Framework Standards provides the required elements of instruction and are worded broadly to allow for local decision-making in designing specific curriculum.

Various resources, practices, and guides involving all learning standards.

This state has adopted the Common Core English Language Arts Standards. To find standards by grade, click on the domains in the table of contents, and then click on the appropriate grade level. Note that "Reading: Foundational Skills" only has standards for grades K-5.

This state has adopted the Common Core Mathematics Standards. Click on the links in the table of contents to view standards by grade level or course.

Social Emotional skills start on page 5; Language and Literacy skills start on page 16; Discoveries skills start on page 29; and Physical Development and Health skills start on page 42.

Social Emotional skills start on page 5; Approaches to Learning skills start on page 12; Language and Literacy skills start on page 16; Mathematics skills start on page 22; Science skills start on page 26; My Family, My Community, My World skills start on page 34; Creative Expression skills start on page 40; and Physical Development and Health skills start on page 43.

On this guide scroll down to find the SS standards which can be downloaded. Delaware separates their standards by content (Civics, Economics, Geography and History). Each content standards are for grades K-12.

This state has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards. Use the filters to find standards by grade level and/or content area.

The Delaware state standards and assessments for visual and performing arts follows the 2014 National Core Arts Standards, adopted by the state of Delaware in 2016.

The Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) supports educating the whole child and advocates for every Delaware student to build positive mental, emotional and physical health skills.

GaDOE is using a new technical specification by the IMS Global Learning Consortium (IMS Global) called the Competency and Academic Standards Exchange (CASE) to enable a machine-readable, linked data versions of state standards. Incudes standards for computer science, CTAE, ELA, fine arts, Georgia home classroom, health education, math, openSALT, PE, science, SS, and world languages.

Click on the Domain, and then click on the standards below to view the age appropriate indicators.

PDF guide of mathematics standards for grades K-5.

PDF guide of standards across skills and grade levels. K-5 starts on page 3 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 46, and 9-12 begins on page 70.

PDF guide of the standards for grades 9-12.

PDF guide of 6-8 mathematics standards.

Scroll down to find PDF links to the standards separated by grade level and content. Once you click on a grade level, the standards are generally the first link on the page.

PDF guide of SS standards. K-5 starts on page 3 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 34, and 9-12 begins on page 68. Additional information and resources can be found here.

The various fine arts standards can be found linked on this page.

The various health standards can be found linked on this page.

Includes links to standards, instructional tools and professional learning resources. Includes standards for computer science, early learning & development, English language learning, fine arts, PE, social & emotional learning, and world languages.

This state has adopted the Common Core English Language Arts Standards. To find standards by grade, click on the domains in the table of contents, and then click on the appropriate grade level. Note that "Reading: Foundational Skills" only has standards for grades K-5.

Click on the links in the table of contents to view standards by grade level or course.

Click on a domain to see the guidelines for that domain, or click "Download PDF" to view all guidelines in one place.

Visit the table of contents on page 3 to find standards by subject.

These standards are currently under revision, but current standards can be found starting on page 264 of this document (as of SY22-23). Priority learning standards can be found here, although these are recommended but not required for schools.

A PDF document of IL's Socio Emotional Learning Standards. Standards are arranged by goal, and then by grade band within each goal.

This state has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards. Use the filters to find standards by grade level and/or content area.

The various Illinois health standards are linked from this page.

The various Illinois fine arts standards are linked from this page.

Standards and resources for all content areas.

Click on the "New 2020 PDF" document for the appropriate grade level.

Scroll down, then click on the "New 2020 PDF" document for the appropriate grade level.

Scroll down, then click on the "2016 Standards" link for the appropriate grade level and/or course.

Scroll down, then click on the "New 2020 PDF" document for the appropriate grade level or course.

See the table of contents on page 3 to find the Foundations by domain.

PDF document on SEL standards. Standards are arranged by competency, and then grade band within each competency.

Overview, links and related resources to all learning standards including: Career readiness, life literacies & key skills, comprehensive health & PE, visual & performing arts, and world languages.

See the Table of Contents on page 3 for standards by domain

PDF guide of CS standards. Standards are arranged by domain, and then grade band within each domain. Additional resources and information can be found here.

PDF links to the standards can be found on the right side of the page under 2016 NJSLS-ELA. Standards are divided by grade level. Additional resources can also be found on the page.

PDF guide of standards broken down by grade level and content. View the table of contents on page 2 to find standards by grade level or course. Additional resources can be found here.

See the Table of Contents on page 4 for standards by domain.

PDF guide of K-12 science standards. View the table of contents on page 2 to find standards by grade level or course. Additional resources and information can be found here.

PDF guide of SS standards. Standards are arranged by domain, and then grade band within each domain. Additional resources and information can be found here.

A well-designed sequential arts program promotes responsible decision making, enhances self-awareness, builds self-esteem and self-management skills, and helps students build relationship and collaboration skills; all of which are essential to prepare New Jersey students for postsecondary success.

Today’s students are continually bombarded with physical, mental and social influences that affect not only learning in school, but also lifelong health.

All of the New York State Education Department's curriculum and instruction resources, including standards for all subject areas.

These standards were approved in 2020, but will not be fully implemented until 2024-2025. Scroll down to find links to standards by grade band.

View the table of contents on page 2 to find standards by grade level or course. Additional information on the standards can be found here.

Visit the links at the bottom of the page to view the science learning standards for each grade band.

Visit the links at the bottom of the page to view the social studies framework. This framework is aligned to the New York State Learning Standards for Social Studies.

Visit the Table of Contents on pages i-ii for guidelines by domain.

PDF Guide of standards. P-5 starts on page 9 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 71, and 9-12 begins on page 96. Additional information on the standards can be found here.

Additional information on the standards can be found here.

These social-emotional learning benchmarks are provided by the state as guidelines for voluntary use by schools and districts. Standards are arranged by goal, and then by grade band within each goal.

The various New York arts standards are linked from this page.

This page provides an overview of the state standards for physical education. The standards are a guide for the development of well-planned instructional practice at the local district level. These standards are mandatory to help shape the design of all components of physical educaiton program.

This page provides an overview of the state standards for Health. The standards are a guide for the development of well-planned instructional practice at the local district level. These standards are mandatory to help shape the design of all components of a health program.

Includes online search tool for grade-specific structured standards, vertical alignments, PDF versions of the standards and implementation practices.

Standards are arranged by category (e.g., Foundational Skills), and then by grade within each category.

Standards are arranged by category (e.g., Foundational Skills), and then by grade within each category.

Visit the Table of Contents on pages 2-3 for standards by key learning area.

Visit the Table of Contents on pages 2-3 for standards by key learning area.

Standards are arranged by area (e.g., Numbers and Operations), and then by grade within each area.

Standards are arranged by category (e.g., Biological Sciences), and then by grade within each category.

Standards are arranged by category (e.g., Biological Sciences), and then by course within each category.

Standards are arranged by category (e.g., Biological Sciences), and then by grade within each category.

On the left, click on PA Academic standards then scroll down to find the SS standards which are broken into four categories: Civics & government, economics, geography and history.

The Academic Standards for the Arts and Humanities describe what students should know and be able to do at the end of grades 3, 5, 8 and 12 in the visual and performing arts and the understanding about humanities context within the arts. The arts include dance, music, theatre and visual arts.

The Academic Standards for Health, Safety and Physical Education describe what students should know and be able to do by the end of third, sixth, ninth and twelfth grade. The standards are sequential across the grade levels and reflect the increasing complexity and rigor that students are expected to achieve.

The Rhode Island Early Learning and Development Standards (hereafter, the RIELDS) outlines early learning expectations at key benchmarks, from birth to 60 months of age.

The Standards for Mathematical Practice describe expertise that mathematics educators at all levels should seek to develop in their students. The Standards for Mathematical Practice describe ways in which developing student practitioners of the discipline of mathematics engage with the subject matter as they grow in mathematical maturity and expertise throughout the elementary, middle, and high school years.

The Rhode Island Core Standards for English Language Arts are tightly aligned to the assessments in the Rhode Island comprehensive assessment system, including the RICAS assessment. These standards maintain the focus, coherence, and rigor of the CCSS, while providing greater clarity and highlighting connections among the standards.

In the vision for student success in social studies outlined in the Social Studies Curriculum Framework, Rhode Island students will understand the world in which they live and will be prepare with the knowledge and skills to become informed, thoughtful, and active citizens in a culturally diverse democratic society and complex world.

This state has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards. Use the filters to find standards by grade level and/or content area.

This state has adopted the National Core Arts Standards.

This state has adopted the National Core Arts Standards.

This state has adopted the National Core Arts Standards.

This state has adopted the National Core Arts Standards.

This state has adopted the National Core Arts Standards.

This state has adopted the SHAPE America’s National Health Education Standards.

This state has adopted the National Standards for Personal Financial Education.

Includes standards on the side of the page and implementation timeline review for new assessments and standards.

Approaches to Learnings starts on page 5; Social and Personal Competencies starts on page 6; English Language Arts starts on page 7; Mathematics starts on page 16; Social Studies starts on page 21; Creative Arts starts on page 23; Physical Development starts on page 23.

See the table of contents on page 3 for standards by domain.

PDF guide of standards. Standards are arranged by category (e.g., Foundational Literacy) and then by grade within that category. Additional information can be found here.

PDF guide of math standards. K-5 starts on page 15 of the PDF, 6-8 starts on page 65, and 9-12 begins on page 85. Additional resources can be found here.

PDF guide of science standards adopted in 2016 and implemented in the 2018-19 school year. Additional resources and information can be found here.

PDF guide of SS standards adopted in 2017. Additional resources and information can be found here.

Fine arts academic standards include separate sets of standards for each of the five arts: dance, music, theatre, visual art, and media art. Each set of standards is based on the national standards for that art area. Shared between all fine arts disciplines are the 11 foundations and the four overarching domains.

The State Board of Education (SBE) has the authority to adopt academic standards for each subject area in grades K-12. The SBE sets the requirements for high school graduation. Per SBE Rule, students must achieve one half-unit of Physical Education in order to graduate with a high school diploma.

School-based health education helps students acquire functional health knowledge, strengthen attitudes and beliefs and provide opportunity for practice skills needed to adopt and maintain healthy behaviors throughout their lives.

Includes all content focused standards, K-5 standards, ELP standards, and Pre-k guidelines.

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Interactive search tool for finding standards based on grade level and subject area.

Visit the Table of Contents on the third page of the PDF (the first numbered page) for guidelines by domain

Visit the Table of Contents on page 2 for guidelines by domain

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Standards are broken down into K-5, 6-8 and 9-12. To find the documents, click on the subchapters for your specific group and links to PDF guides of grade-specific standards are presented on the page.

Scroll down the page to find links to the standards. Includes early learning, arts education, and world languages standards as well as framework resources and competency-based learning materials.

This state has adopted the Common Core English Language Arts Standards. To find standards by grade, click on the domains in the table of contents, and then click on the appropriate grade level. Note that "Reading: Foundational Skills" only has standards for grades K-5.

This state has adopted the Common Core Mathematics Standards. Click on the links in the table of contents to view standards by grade level or course.

Approaches to Learning/Logic and Reasoning starts on page 14; Communication and Language starts on page 18; Literacy starts on page 24; Mathematics starts on page 32; Science and Engineering starts on page 42; Social Studies starts on page 56; The Arts starts on page 60; Social and Emotional Development starts on page 64; Physical Development, Health, and Safety starts on page 68

PDF document of standards on how to embed technology literacy throughout all subject areas

View the table of contents on page 3 to find standards by grade band.

See the table of contents on pages 2-3 to find standards by grade level. Note that the SS standards are currently being revised.

This state has adopted the Next Generation Science Standards. Use the filters to find standards by grade level and/or content area.

The standards address bullying, addiction, sexual and mental health issues and provide students with a framework for building the skills they need to be healthy for the rest of their lives.

The standards presented in this document outline a well-rounded arts education, achieved through two distinct strategies: arts integration and the arts as core subjects. The four disciplines covered are dance, music, theater, and visual arts.

The theater standards provide teachers and curriculum coordinators with a summary of theater content that should be taught from pre-kindergarten through high school. Adapted from highly regarded national and state standards, these theater standards incorporate feedback from local teachers, administrators, teaching artists, and community organizations.