Technology Tools and Online Resources for Education

A student-friendly dictionary that can also be customized with word lists and vocabulary review activities.

Offers searchable news articles on a variety of topics. Key feature is its function of automatically adjusting the lexile level for each of its articles. Useful for finding rich news articles on particular topics; differentiating text so all students experience the topic but through texts of different lexile levels.

Offers searchable texts of all genres, including paired passages; texts come with pre-written comprehension questions. Useful for finding rich texts with pre-made comprehension questions on particular topics / levels / genres.

Includes readings integrated with interactive features like quizzes

Read articles on science-related topics organized by subjects like Atom & Cosmos, Body & Brain, Matter & Energy, Life & Evolution and more in this online magazine. For younger audiences or for corresponding articles at a less challenging reading level, try Science News for Students.

Read articles on science-related topics organized by subjects like Atom & Cosmos, Body & Brain, Matter & Energy, Life & Evolution and more in this online magazine. For more advanced readers, look for corresponding articles in Science News.

"Our searchable library of short texts offers a diverse mix of stories and perspectives. This multigenre, multimedia collection aligns with the Common Core's recommendations for text complexity and the Learning for Justice Social Justice Standards."

Offers searchable texts that each come with CCSS-aligned questions to support comprehension and paired passages; pre-packaged lessons that can be sent directly to students. Useful for finding rich texts with pre-made comprehension questions on particular topics / levels / genres.

A collection of over 60,000 free eBooks. Useful for finding rich texts or text excerpts, mostly for classic texts (ex. Shakespeare).

Kanopy has a collection of videos, mostly independent films, documentaries, and educational videos.

Features videos and tutorials on a variety of topics. Many Khan Academy videos now include associated interactive features such as quizzes.

Crash Course provides videos on topics in a variety of subjects

Blossoms provides video lessons for high school STEM lessons. Each video includes a teacher's guide, hand outs, and additional online resources.

A science video blog that covers a wide range of topics through short, direct videos and fun, easy-to-understand methods. Videos are designed to align to research on what makes science instructional videos most effective; these often target misconceptions.

Contains over 65 videos on consitutional concepts and Supreme Court cases, as well as games, lesson plans, timelines, downloadable books, and more.

Organized digital library features piles of useful primary resources

The Library of Congress has a huge number of primary sources related to US history.

The National Archives also has a huge number of primary sources related to US history.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available for use in high-school including documents associated with a "western civilization" approach to history, information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history, and women's history and LGBT studies.

Data USA is a data-search and -visualization website that aims to make U.S. government data more accessible to the public.

Also visit the page on this guide titled: Computing, Simulations, and Manipulatives (STEM)

Families can experience the Museum’s spirit of discovery and exploration at home by virtually accessing a wide range of activities covering science, art, engineering, storytelling, music, and more.

Located in the heart of London, students can explore this iconic museum with exhibits dedicated to everything from Egyptian mummies to the Rosetta Stone and Egyptian mummies.

Visit some of the top STEM locations in the country with Discovery Education's virtual field trips.

Google Arts & Culture is both a website and an iOS or Android app that provides free access to art, culture, and historical collections from around the world.

Embark on a virtual field trip that covers three main components: coastal wetlands, algae, and lake sturgeon. The videos are short and targeted at middle schoolers.

Even through a virtual tour on a small screen, students will be dazzled by the magnificence and wonder of this thousands-year old fortification system.

This is definitely one of the best social studies websites around! Use Google’s Street View feature to tour the world-famous Guggenheim museum, including works of art and the breathtaking spiral staircase.

The Street View tour of this California museum gives students access to European artworks that date back as far as the 8th Century.

There’s so much to see at this iconic New York museum—even on a virtual tour. From couture ball gowns to a history of music, students will be captivated by the 26 online galleries.

Students can virtually walk through this gallery which includes works from Monet, Cézanne, Gauguin, and more.

Scope out two incredible online exhibits through Google: currently featuring one exhibit dedicated to American fashion and another featuring a collection of works from Dutch Baroque painter Johannes Vermeer.

Dig into the archaeology and history of Mexico’s pre-Hispanic heritage with a virtual tour of 23 exhibit rooms, including artifacts from the Mayan civilization.

Visit one of South Korea's most popular museums through this extensive virtual tour of Contemporary art from Korea and more.

These wonderful virtual field trips allow students to explore a coastal rain forest or the coral reefs in the Dominican Republic and so much more.

This historical museum in Germany provides a virtual glimpse of ancient artifacts including the Ishtar Gate of Babylon and the Pergamon Altar.

Explore the masterworks from the Dutch Golden Age, including works from Vermeer and Rembrandt. Google offers a Street View tour of this iconic museum, so you can feel as if you’re actually wandering its halls.

Check out the fantastic behind-the-scenes videos and stories. Then, be sure to check out the great list of activities and downloadables.

The Seattle Aquarium hosts a 30-minute virtual field trip. Students can learn about the animals and the food web that can be found in the Puget Sound waters.

These self-guided virtual tours give students and up-close look at permanent, current, and past exhibits.

This incredibly cool and responsive website allows students to explore more than 60,000 stars, watch sunrises, search for planets and more!

Vincent Van Gogh is one of the most iconic painters of all time, and this virtual tour allows visitors to marvel at the largest collection of his artwork.

Virtual field trips geared towards K-9 science and social studies classes. This site includes curriculum content, online learning videos and quizzes along with a list of the corresponding national and state standards.

Explore interactive maps of Yellowstone and view a livestream of the Old Faithful Geyser eruptions.