LibGuides: Career and Professional Development for Educators: Grants, Scholarship, Funding

Funding Overview

This guide provides resources to help K-12 teachers like you discover opportunities to receive funding for classroom supplies (including technology), special curriculum projects, and professional development. It also includes monetary awards for excellent teaching that you can apply for.

The guide includes grant and award opportunities (funded by external organizations), crowd-sourced fundraising opportunities, and sites that provide a collection of links that point to additional opportunities for funding.

Always review the application timeline and requirements thoroughly before applying for any opportunity. Good luck with your search!

Individual Grant Opportunities

This section contains links to specific organizations that give grants and awards to teachers for classroom supplies, special curriculum projects, and/or professional development.

Supply a Teacher
The Supply A Teacher program seeks to remove the burden of having to provide necessary resources from teachers in underserved schools. Each teacher served will receive two large boxes filled with enough core school supplies to last for at least one semester.
Academic Enrichment Grants
The McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation offers Academic Enrichment Grants designed to develop in-class and extra-curricular programs that improve student learning. The Foundation considers proposals that foster understanding, deepen students’ knowledge, and provide opportunities to expand awareness of the world around them.
Fund for Teachers
Fund for Teachers strengthens instruction by investing in outstanding teachers' self-determined professional growth and development in order to support student success, enrich their own practice, and strengthen their schools and communities.

Fundraising Resources

This section contains sites that help you leverage donations, crowdfunding campaigns, and other strategies to support your students and fund your classroom projects.

DonorsChoose
DonorsChoose is a website where teachers can post requests for funding for resources. Note that public schools, charter schools, and Head Start centers are eligible, but not daycares, independent schools, or Early Head Start classrooms (see full eligibility here). 70% of all projects are fully funded, and they have tips for success listed here.
AdoptAClassroom
This site is similar to Donors Choose, allowing for crowdfunding of teacher projects. Accredited K-12 public, private, or charter schools are eligible. Preschool programs are eligible if they are an accredited, public preschool, a preschool program that is based in an accredited K-12 school, or a Head Start Program. Licensed teachers and certified staff members may start projects.
Classful
Classful allows for teacher and school fundraising. In this site, you get the funds directly (rather than the materials), and you do not need to reach your goal to receive the funds. Teacher fundraising is free, but there are processing fees.

Collections of Grant Opportunities

These resources are collections of multiple grant opportunities for teachers. Use these to get a sense of what kinds of grants are available. Make sure to review the details careful if you decide to pursue one; note that some resources are for schools or districts to apply for rather than individual teachers.

K–12 Grants
This page lists current and ongoing grant opportunities from the Technological Horizons in Education Journal. It focuses on technology-related grants, though some grants can apply more generally. The resources are updated regularly.
Grants for teachers
This list of grants is categorized into four groups including PD and classroom funding. Be sure to visit the website of the grant provider for up-to-date information and frequently asked questions regarding the offering.
GetEdFunding
This site allows you to search for grants

	Scholarly Article or Journal
	Book or eBook
	Website, Blog, or Online Resource
	Classroom or Curriculum Materials
	Audio File
	Video File