LibGuides: Relay Library for Faculty and Staff: PD Journals

PD Journals Intro

This page lists the publications that are most requested for professional development. If the publication is available in the Relay library, you can access it without using your professional development funds! Use the menu on the left to jump to the various sections on this page. To search through all resources in the Relay Library, visit https://relay.edu/library Notes: For most journals, you can set up alerts to be notified when new issues are published, or visit this page on creating alerts!

If you want to explore more teaching associations visit our libguide here: https://relay.libguides.com/teaching-associations.

General Education Publications

Education Week [K12] (1981-Present)
Education Week is a resource for K-12 education news and information. From teachers to principals to district leaders across the country, Education Week's diverse audience turns to us for the most up-to-date information on K-12 education in the U.S., as well as innovative, high-value tools and solutions. Note: Access is provided through the publisher website.
Chronicle of Higher Education [Higher Ed] (1989-Present)
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, they serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world. Note: Access is provided through the publisher website.

General Publications

New York Times (1980-Present)
The New York Times covers domestic, national, and international news, and publishes opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Present)
The Wall Street Journal is an American newspaper based in New York City, with a focus on business and finance.
The Washington Post (1996-Present)
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. and known for its political reporting.

General Education Association Journals

Educational Leadership [K-12] (1943-Present)
The journal from the ASCD. Articles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
Phi Delta Kappan [K-12] (2000-Present)
Phi Delta Kappan, a publication of PDK International, offers timely, relevant, and provocative insights on K-12 education policy, research, curriculum, and professional development. Kappan readers include new and veteran teachers, graduate students, school and district administrators, researchers and teacher educators.

Educational Technology Association Journals

International Society for Technology in Education Journals

Journal of Research on Technology in Education [K-12 and Higher Ed] (1997-Present)
The Journal of Research on Technology in Education is a peer-reviewed research journal that explores teaching and learning with technology. Articles address issues of formal educational environments ranging from PK-12 to higher education.
Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education [Higher Ed] (1997-Present)
The Journal of Digital Learning in Teacher Education provides computer and technology education to preservice and inservice teachers. The journal offers a forum to share information about using technology in teacher education among departments, schools and colleges of education.

The Association for Educational Communications and Technology Journals

TechTrends [Higher Ed] (1997-1 Year Ago)
TechTrends is a publication for professionals in the educational communication and technology field. Its major purposes are: to provide a vehicle for the exchange of information among professional practitioners concerning the management of media and programs, the application of educational technology principles and techniques to instructional programs.
Educational Technology Research & Development [K-12 and Higher Ed] (2004-1 Year Ago)
Educational Technology Research and Development is a scholarly journal focusing entirely on research and development in educational technology. The Research Section includes articles with rigorous original quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods studies on topics relating to applications of technology or instructional design in educational settings. Such contexts include K-12, higher education, and adult learning.
The Journal of Applied Instructional Design [Higher Ed] (2011-Present)
The purpose of this journal is to bridge the gap between theory and practice by providing reflective practitioners a means for publishing articles related to the field. Articles include evaluation reports (summative and formative), lessons learned, design and development approaches, as well as applied research.
International Journal of Designs for Learning [K-12 and Higher Ed] (2010-Present)
The journal provides a venue for designers to share their knowledge-in-practice through rich representations of their designs and detailed discussion of decision-making.Audiences for the journal include designers, teachers and students of design and scholars studying the practice of design.
The Journal of Technology-Integrated Lessons and Teaching [K-12 and Higher Ed] (2022-Present)
The Journal of Technology-Integrated Lessons and Teaching is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal that publishes technology-rich lessons, activities, micro-credentials, and badges for PK-16+ professionals. The journal provides a venue for high-quality, international learning representations with additional information regarding their context and setting, design rationale, implementation, and lessons learned.

Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education Journals

Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education Review [K-12 and Higher Ed] (2008-Present)
AACE Review builds upon the knowledge gained from research, best practices demonstrated in learning and teaching, ideas expressed by the community, and rapidly developing technology to help advance learning throughout the globe.

Early Childhood Association Journals

National Association for the Education of Young Children Journals

Teaching Young Children [PreK] (2010-Present)
Teaching Young Children is a magazine for classroom educators—highlights current thinking on best practices in early childhood education, innovations in the field, research and its implications, and interesting ideas for and from preschool teachers.
Young Children [Birth-3] (2004-Present)
Young Children is a peer-reviewed journal. Each issue combines a strong research base with practical suggestions for early childhood educators and addresses important topics from multiple perspectives. Articles support educational excellence and focus on meeting the needs of all children, birth through third grade.
Voices of Practitioners [Early Childhood] (2010-Present)
Voices of Practitioners: Teacher Research in Early Childhood Education is a peer-reviewed journal in which teachers provide a critical perspective on their roles in children's development and learning. Voices of Practitioners disseminates early childhood teachers’ systematic study of an aspect of their own classroom practice.

Middle Grades Educator Association Journals

Middle School Journal [Middle Grades] (1997-Present)
Middle School Journal , a refereed journal, is an official publication and a Professional Membership benefit of the Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE). Published five times per year, the journal offers articles that promote quality middle level education and contribute to an understanding of the educational and developmental needs of youth between the ages of 10 and 15.

English Language Association Journals

National Council of Teachers of English Journals

English Education [Higher Ed] (1997-Present)
English Education serves teachers who are engaged in the preparation, support, and continuing education of teachers of English language arts/literacy at all levels of instruction.
English Journal [Middle Grades and Secondary] (1988-Present)
English Journal contains ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are applying practices, research, and multimodal literacies in their classrooms.
English Leadership Quarterly [K12 Leadership] (1988-Present)
English Leadership Quarterly helps department chairs, K–12 supervisors, and other leaders in their role of improving the quality of literacy instruction. ELQ offers short articles on a variety of issues important to decision-makers in English language arts.
Language Arts [PreK-8] (1989-Present)
Language Arts provides a forum for discussions on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade. Issues discuss both theory and classroom practice, highlight current research, and review children’s and young adolescent literature.
Research in the Teaching of English [Birth-12 and Higher Ed] (1997-Present)
Research in the Teaching of English is a multidisciplinary journal composed of original research articles and short scholarly essays on a wide range of topics significant to those concerned with the teaching and learning of languages and literacies around the world, both in and beyond schools and universities.
Talking Points [K-12] (2015-Present)
Talking Points helps promote literacy research and the use of whole language instruction in classrooms. It provides a forum for parents, classroom teachers, and researchers to reflect about literacy and learning.
Voices from the Middle [Middle Grades] (1997-Present)
Voices from the Middle publishes original contributions by middle level teachers, students, teacher educators, and researchers in response to specific themes that focus on our discipline, our teaching, and our students. Voices offers middle level teachers innovative and practical ideas for classroom use that are rooted in current research.

International Literacy Association Journals

Literacy Today [K-12] (1989-Present)
Literacy Today is a magazine focused on hot topics in the field and how they relate to high-quality instruction, it examines the latest literacy research, and shares stories from their global literacy network.
The Reading Teacher [K-7] (1990-1 year ago)
The Reading Teacher provides the latest peer-reviewed, research-based best practices to literacy educators working with children up to age 12. Classroom-ready articles cover topics from curriculum, instruction, and assessment to strategies for teaching diverse populations of literacy learners.
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy [7-12] (1995-2020)
Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy explores innovative teaching methods, literacy assessment tools, and strategies for improving reading and writing skills in diverse populations. It features research articles, reviews, and practical insights related to literacy instruction, reading strategies, and language development.
Reading Research Quarterly [K-12] (1994-1 year ago)
Reading Research Quarterly offers multidisciplinary scholarship on literacy among learners of all ages, including the latest research studies (methods, results, effects, findings, and implications).

Mathematics Association Journals

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics Journals

Mathematics Teacher [Middle Grades and Secondary] (2020-Present)
Mathematics Teacher focuses on improving mathematics instruction for grades 8–14 and supporting teacher education programs. It provided a forum for sharing activities and pedagogical strategies, deepening understanding of mathematical ideas, and linking mathematics education research to practice.
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School [Middle Grades] (1994-2019)
Mathematics Teaching in the Middle School is a peer-reviewed journal intended as a resource for middle school students, teachers, and teacher educators. The focus of the journal is on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction.
Teaching Children Mathematics [Elementary] (1994-2019)
Teaching Children Mathematics is a journal intended as a resource for elementary school students, teachers, and teacher educators. The focus of the journal is on intuitive, exploratory investigations that use informal reasoning to help students develop a strong conceptual basis that leads to greater mathematical abstraction.
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education [PreK-12 and Higher Ed] (2006-Present)
Journal for Research in Mathematics Education is a research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
Mathematics Teacher Educator [Higher Ed] (2012-Present)
Mathematics Teacher Educator contributes to building a professional knowledge base for mathematics teacher educators that stems from, develops, and strengthens practitioner knowledge. The journal provides a means for practitioner knowledge related to the preparation and support of teachers of mathematics to be not only public, shared, and stored, but also verified and improved over time.

Science Association Journals

National Science Teaching Association Journals

Science and Children [Elementary] (1997-Present)
Science and Children is a peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for pre-K–grade 5 teachers and university faculty responsible for teacher preparation. Articles include detailed innovative, classroom-tested early childhood and elementary school science activities and strategies that demonstrate current research regarding the teaching and learning of science as in the Framework for K–12 Science Education.
Science Scope [Middle Grades] (1997-Present)
Science Scope is a peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 6–8 teachers and university faculty responsible for teacher preparation. Articles include detailed innovative, classroom-tested middle school science activities and strategies that demonstrate current research regarding the teaching and learning of science as in the Framework for K–12 Science Education.
The Science Teacher [Secondary] (1989-Present)
The Science Teacher is a peer-reviewed, practitioners' journal for grade 9-12 teachers and university faculty responsible for teacher preparation. Articles include detailed innovative, classroom-tested high school science activities and strategies that demonstrate current research regarding the teaching and learning of science as in the Framework for K–12 Science Education including a focus on specific science teaching strategies, e.g. social justice, equity, etc.

Social Studies Association Journals

National Council for the Social Studies Journals

Social Education [Middle Grades and Secondary] (2009-Present)
Social Education contains a balance of theoretical content and practical teaching ideas. Articles include techniques for using materials in the classroom, information on the latest instructional technology, reviews of educational media, research on significant social studies-related topics, and lesson plans that can be applied to various disciplines.
Social Studies and the Young Learner [Elementary] (2009-Present)
Social Studies and the Young Learner provides relevant and useful information about the teaching of social studies to elementary students.The teaching techniques presented are designed to stimulate the reading, writing, and critical thinking skills vital to classroom success.

TEL Association Journals

Council for Exceptional Children Journals

Teaching Exceptional Children [K-12] (1999-Present)
Teaching Exceptional Children features research-to-practice information and materials for classroom use, as well as current issues in special education teaching and learning.It also brings its readers the latest data on instructional technologies, strategies, procedures, and techniques with applications to students with exceptionalities.
Exceptional Children [K-12] (1999-Present)
Exceptional Children is a peer-reviewed journal addressing the education and related development of individuals with disabilities and/or who are considered gifted.

Division for Early Childhood of the Council for Exceptional Children Journals

Journal of Early Intervention [Early Childhood] (1999-Present)
The Journal of Early Intervention offers articles related to research and practice in early intervention for infants and young children with special needs and their families.
Young Exceptional Children [Early Childhood] (1999-Present)
Young Exceptional Children is written for teachers, early care and education personnel who work with or on behalf of children from birth through 8 years of age who have identified disabilities, developmental delays, are gifted/talented, or are considered at-risk for future developmental challenges.

National Association for Gifted Children Journals

The Gifted Child Quarterly [K-12] (1999-Present)
Gifted Child Quarterly publishes original scholarly reviews of literature as well as quantitative or qualitative research studies that explore the characteristics of gifted students, program models, curriculum and other areas of importance in understanding and maximizing the development and education of gifted students.

	Scholarly Article or Journal
	Book or eBook
	Website, Blog, or Online Resource
	Classroom or Curriculum Materials
	Audio File
	Video File