LibGuides: Tennessee: Demographics and Data

Memphis Demographics and Data

Memphis Data Hub
An online interactive tool showcasing data from Memphis including performance dashboards, data inventories, and mapping tools that allow Memphians to engage with civic data.
Memphis Census QuickFacts
Provides a snapshot of the population statistics through various characteristics, business facts and geographical statistics.
Data USA: Memphis
Interactive portal that portrays the changing data and statistics of Memphis's economy, diversity, education. housing, Covid-19 statistics and more.
Census Profile Data
Census information of population demographics, economic data, health & wellness information, education statistics and more.

Nashville Demographics and Data

Nashville Open Data Portal
Official city repository for publicly accessible open data published by state agencies and institutions of higher education.
Nashville Census QuickFacts
Provides a snapshot of the population statistics through various characteristics, business facts and geographical statistics.
Data USA: Nashville
Interactive portal that portrays the changing data and statistics of Nashville's economy, diversity, education. housing, Covid-19 statistics and more.
Nashville Demographics
Demographics and statistics through each of Nashville's neighborhoods.

Tennessee Demographics and Data

Tennessee Census QuickFacts
Provides a snapshot of the population statistics through various characteristics, business facts and geographical statistics.
Tennessee Covid-19 Dashboard
Interactive dashboard that shows up-to-date data and information on Covid-19 through all TN counties.
Tennessee Property Data
State provided real estate assessment and data.
TN Census Profile Data
Census information of population demographics, economic data, health & wellness information, education statistics and more.
TN Department of Education Report Card
Includes a dashboard of detailed, easy-to-understand information about the key indicators that the state uses to understand school and district performance, including achievement, growth, attendance, English learners’ proficiency in English, graduation rate, and postsecondary readiness of students.
TN Educational Data
State provided educational demographics, profiles, state assessments, report card data, educator surveys and other relevant links.
TN Open Data Portals
Official state repository for publicly accessible open data published by state agencies and institutions of higher education.

General Resources for Demographic and Other Data

Links:

CARES HQ
CARES HQ provides maps and data related to health, environment, agriculture, safety, education, and the economy. Visit the map room to create a custom map, or visit the Assessment page to find data for your county across a number of indicators.
Census Data
Plug in your district’s zip code and explore school enrollment, ancestry, languages spoken at home
Census QuickFacts
Provides statistics for all states, counties, and cities/towns with a population of 500 or more.
Civil Rights Data Collection
Search by school or district to find enrollment demographics, retention rates, etc. This is a wide ranging database of nearly every school/district in the country with relatively easy to understand data layouts. However, note that the data stops around 2017.
County Health Rankings and Roadmaps
Provides health data by county
Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC) Geocoding System
Enter an address to find demographic information for the area.
GreatSchools.org
This is a highly engaging and easy to use data set including teacher and family voices. Note, however, that this data set is far from objective as scores and grades are assigned to specific schools and districts based upon an internally decided grading system that may not correlate with all users.
Mapping America
A tool from the Social Science Research Council that provides mapped data of various measures related to well-being in America.
Measure of America
A website from the Social Science Research Council that provides tools and information about various communities and issues
National Center for Education Statistics - Individual Schools
This is an updated and relatively user friendly interface for data on school districts from the United States epartment of Education. Some, but by no means all, policymakers hold Federal data in higher regard.
National Center for Education Statistics - School Districts
This is an an updated and relaitvely user friendly interface for data on school districts from the United States epartment of Education. Some, but by no means all, policymakers hold Federal data in higher regard.

Additional Tips:

Visit state and city education websites to learn about demographics of the community and the structure and history of school districts
County and city planning department websites often contain population, housing, and economic data
Social service agencies and health department websites may also contain information about the demographics and health of the community