Washington, D.C.

Provides information on the history of Washington, D.C., including key historical events, significant landmarks, cultural heritage, and other aspects that have shaped the city's development and identity over time.

Represents the Historical Society of Washington, D.C., offering resources, exhibits, and programs related to the history and culture of Washington, D.C. It provides access to archival collections, educational materials, exhibitions, and events that promote the understanding and appreciation of the city's diverse history and heritage.

The People's Archive, located within the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library in Washington, D.C., is a special collection dedicated to documenting and preserving the history, culture, and experiences of the city's residents. It provides a platform for individuals and communities to contribute their stories, photographs, and other materials, ensuring that diverse voices and perspectives are represented in the archival record of the city.

Offers a comprehensive guide to the museums in Washington, D.C., providing information about various museums, galleries, and cultural institutions in the city, including their collections, exhibits, special events, and visitor information.

Provides information and resources for educational opportunities in Washington, D.C. It includes details about educational programs, field trips, and resources available for students, teachers, and educational institutions.

Contains links to a number of state history resources. Select your state under "Choose a Location."

An educational website that provides a guide to thousands of historical and cultural sites throughout the US.

The National Endowment for the Humanities provides links to a number of digital encyclopedias and other resources on state and local history.

The Sanborn Maps Navigator was created by 2020 Library of Congress Junior Fellow Selena Qian to explore the United States through historic maps and newspaper photographs. Qian’s tool combines 32,000 maps from the Sanborn Fire Insurance Atlases collection and 1,494,585 photographs from the Newspaper Navigator dataset.