PK-12 Distance Learning Resources

Webinars, Resources, Blog Posts

A list of resources compiled by NCSS, including webinars, teaching resources, at home learning resources, and more.

The first of a two-part EdWeek series looking at social studies instruction in the age of COVID, and how to adapt social studies for remote teaching.

Lesson plans, articles, and other secondary social studies resources provided by the New York Times.

An online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives. Includes primary source documents and lesson/activity plans, as well as the option to create your own activities.

The humanities on the web; lesson plans, curricula materials, media resources, and teacher guides from the National Endowment of the Humanities.

The ultimate map quiz site! You can use Seterra from any web browser to explore the world and learn about its countries, capitals, cities, rivers, lakes and more.

A digital game based on the character, help Carmen Sandiego by using the Google Earth platform to answer questions, evaluate maps, and make global connections.

A collection of online learning resources for all grade levels and subject areas, compiled by Common Sense

An online lesson and assessment tool designed to empower students to think deeply and write critically about pivotal moments in US history.

The OER Project includes the Big History Project and World History Project, which are free online social studies courses for middle and high school students.

Crash Course provides videos on topics in World History, US History, Government and Politics, Sociology, and more.

A nonprofit organization that has developed an array of programs for schools, teachers, and students that now operate in all fifty states, including a website that features lesson plans, study guides, teaching resources, and more than 60,000 unique historical documents.

Use the online tool to access countless primary source documents to enhance learning. Find lesson plans and distance learning resources for K-12 students.

Families can experience the Museum’s spirit of discovery and exploration at home by virtually accessing a wide range of activities covering science, art, engineering, storytelling, music, and more.

Located in the heart of London, students can explore this iconic museum with exhibits dedicated to everything from Egyptian mummies to the Rosetta Stone and Egyptian mummies.

Even through a virtual tour on a small screen, students will be dazzled by the magnificence and wonder of this thousands-year old fortification system.

This is definitely one of the best social studies websites around! Use Google’s Street View feature to tour the world-famous Guggenheim museum, including works of art and the breathtaking spiral staircase.

The Street View tour of this California museum gives students access to European artworks that date back as far as the 8th Century.

There’s so much to see at this iconic New York museum—even on a virtual tour. From couture ball gowns to a history of music, students will be captivated by the 26 online galleries.

Students can virtually walk through this gallery which includes works from Monet, Cézanne, Gauguin, and more.

Scope out two incredible online exhibits through Google: currently featuring one exhibit dedicated to American fashion and another featuring a collection of works from Dutch Baroque painter Johannes Vermeer.

Dig into the archaeology and history of Mexico’s pre-Hispanic heritage with a virtual tour of 23 exhibit rooms, including artifacts from the Mayan civilization.

Visit one of South Korea's most popular museums through this extensive virtual tour of Contemporary art from Korea and more.

This historical museum in Germany provides a virtual glimpse of ancient artifacts including the Ishtar Gate of Babylon and the Pergamon Altar.

Explore the masterworks from the Dutch Golden Age, including works from Vermeer and Rembrandt. Google offers a Street View tour of this iconic museum, so you can feel as if you’re actually wandering its halls.

These self-guided virtual tours give students and up-close look at permanent, current, and past exhibits.

Vincent Van Gogh is one of the most iconic painters of all time, and this virtual tour allows visitors to marvel at the largest collection of his artwork.

Virtual field trips geared towards K-9 science and social studies classes. This site includes curriculum content, online learning videos and quizzes along with a list of the corresponding national and state standards.