Elementary Resources

Provides a variety of projects and resources, workshops and consulting services, and scholarship grounded in equity and social justice in schools and communities.

Videos, artículos, libros, y otros recursos antirracistas en español.

Over 200 resources compiled by Dr. Nicole A. Cooke. A project of the Augusta Baker Endowed Chair at the University of South Carolina.

Online self-paced courses on educational equity, diversity, and inclusion built by the Equity Literacy Institute, organized by Paul Gorski.

Collection of educator resources for racial justice.

A collection of articles, classroom resources, and professional development resources from Teaching Tolerance.

A collection of articles, resources, and commentary on equity, racial justice, and the COVID-19 pandemic. Includes resources for school leaders, self-care and well-being, tips and strategies for humanizing online learning, and more.

The toolkit contains a high-level overview of the facilitated conversation, with individual PowerPoint presentations and materials containing detailed notes, resources, and activities that will help you move through each part of the conversation. Educators are encouraged to modify these presentations so they work for your school community.

A tool for educators designed to "promote a multi-dimensional approach to text selection that prioritizes critical literacy, cultural responsiveness and complexity."

Teaching for Change provides teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write and change the world. Includes teaching resources, parent resources, and book lists and recommendations.

A collection of articles, classroom resources, and professional development resources from Teaching Tolerance.

Includes lesson plans and other teaching materials and resources based around the book "Teaching for Black Lives" (Watson et. al. 2018).

An online collection of readings, curricula, study guides, videos, stories, and more.

A guide that provides teachers with strategies and techniques to use when facilitating conversations about racism and other forms of discrimination.

A Teaching Tolerance guide for creating an LGBTQ-inclusive climate at school.

Resources include educator guides, lesson plans, a safe space kit, professional development workshops, and more.

Highly searchable collection of lesson plans and curriculum materials including stories, speeches, articles, poems, visual media, and more, all of which contain "tasks and strategies" to be used with the texts, all aligned with the Common Core. Resources can be filtered by grade, Lexile Level, etc., but also by "lens" (ability, immigration, class, LGBT, race and ethnicity, etc.) and theme (freedom and choice, identity, rights and responsibilities, etc.).

Yes! But How? LGBTQ+ Inclusion for Educators is a collaborative project between the NYCDOE Office of Safety & Youth Development and the Office of Curriculum, Instruction, & Professional Learning written by LGBTQ+ author and curator Hugh Ryan and illustrated by artist Cristy Road. It is written for K–12 teachers and administrators to help support the development of LGBTQ+ inclusive and affirming school environments.

A nonprofit organization created to promote diversity of multiple forms in children's literature and publishing.

A searchable collection of more than 2,000 picture books featuring people of color and indigenous people.

Learning for Justice. (2016). "Reading Diversity: A Tool for Selecting Diverse Texts." https://www.learningforjustice.org/magazine/publications/reading-diversity

A blog “designed to push awareness of the myriad of African American voices writing for young readers." Their 28 Days Later initiative highlights a different African American author or illustrator during the 28 days of Black History Month.

A blog "dedicated to reading, reviewing, talking about, and otherwise promoting young adult books (fiction and non-fiction) starring or written by BIPOC."

Reviews and discusses Latinx YA, MG, and children’s literature.

A directoy of Asian kidlit authors, compiled by the Asian Author Alliance.

A website and blog dedicated to LGBTQ+ representation in YA literature. Includes a masterlist of LGBTQ+ books.

Discusses and reviews portrayals of disability in YA, middle grade, and children's literature. NOTE: The blog stopped updating around 2017, but still contains a lot of excellent resources and recommendations!

Features searchable book lists, including multicultural fiction, personal development, and social issues.

A collection of read-alouds of children's books about activism and advocacy, self-love and empowerment, and Black history, as well as a collection of books in Spanish.