Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intro to the Relay Library

Relay library FAQs, research tips, and more!

About the Relay Library

Relay's Library contains access to thousands of scholarly journals, electronic books focused on K-12 education, Relay and teacher produced videos, news videos, K-12 curriculum materials, and more! Most of these resources are available online, which means that you can access them 24/7 from the comfort of your home or work. All that’s needed to access resources is an internet connection and your Relay user name and password.

To stay updated on library news and resources, follow @RelayLibrary on Twitter, Tumblr, or Facebook!

Searching for Relay Library Resources

Use the search box below to search for materials in the Relay library catalog! You can search for materials by their title, author, or keyword. If you are looking for materials online, be sure to select "Full Text Online" from the search results on the left.  

 

 

For a list of the most commonly used resources in the library, check out the Relay Library Highlighted Resources guide.

Contact the Library

If you need help or have questions about:

  • Using the library (including checking out/renewing books or visiting the library), 
  • Finding library resources (including resources for your classroom, research, or professional development),
  • Teaching your students how to conduct research,
  • Formatting APA citations,
  • Finding test prep materials,
  • Or anything else!

Let us know! You can email us at library@relay.edu or use the 24/7 Ask A Librarian service using the chatbox below. 

Library FAQs

What kinds of resources can I access through the Relay library? 

Through the Relay library, you have access to thousands of digital resources, including ebooks, journals, articles, videos, newspapers and magazines, worksheets, lesson plans, and other classroom and curriculum materials! You can access all of this and more through our website, relay.edu/library. 

Can I check out books? 

Yes! Students can check out physical books from our campuses in Atlanta, Connecticut, Dallas Fort Worth, Delaware, Denver, Houston, Memphis, Newark, New Orleans, New York, Philadelphia/Camden, San Antonio, and Washington DC. If you aren't at one of these campuses, you can still check out ebooks! You can search our physical collection here; and our ebook collection here. 

How do I contact the library? 

You can contact us via email at library@relay.edu; or you can ask a question using our 24/7 Ask A Librarian chat, which you can access through Canvas or using this link.  

Can I discuss my question with a librarian? 

You bet! We're happy to set up a meeting to talk about your research, discuss ways to be a more efficient researcher, review APA citation formatting, help you find materials for your classroom, and more! We're happy to meet with you in person at our New York office, or online through video chat. You can email us at library@relay.edu to set up an appointment. 

Why can't I access this resource? 

The answer to this question depends on a lot of things! Some basic troubleshooting tips: 

  • It's possible that we don't have the particular book or article that you're looking for. If you've searched and the article is not showing up in the catalog, we may not have it; but if you don't need the material immediately, we may be able to request it for you via InterLibrary Loan.
  • Check for typos! Sometimes our search takes things very literally - "To Kill a Mokcingbird" doesn't produce any results, while "To Kill a Mockingbird" provides over 2,000 results. 
  • If you're having trouble accessing a particular website or database, try clearing cache and cookies (learn how to do this here). 
  • If you're still having difficulty accessing a particular article or resource, send us an email at library@relay.edu and we'll see what we can do to get it for you! 

What are the library hours? 

During the school year, the library is staffed Monday-Thursday from 3-7pm and Saturdays from 9am-4pm. NOTE: Due to COVID-19, the New York campus library space is currently closed.

Can I have food/drink in the library? 

You can bring drinks in closed containers and dry snack foods - however, we ask that you keep any wet foods or open containers in the student pantry. Additionally, please consider your fellow library patrons before bringing snacks that are very loud or strong smelling. 

For how long can I check out books? 

You can check out books for 4 weeks! 

Will the library purchase a book for me? 

We're always happy to receive requests and recommendations for books to add to our collection! Whether or not we purchase the book will depend on several factors (such as the cost, whether it fits in with our collection, and whether we have similar books that cover the same topic). You can email your requests to us at library@relay.edu. If we are able to fulfill your request, we will send you a notification when the book has arrived. If not, we may be able to request the book for you via interlibrary loan or suggest alternatives.

Do you loan chargers/laptops/other? 

Students can borrow wall plugs and micro USB or lightning charging cables from the library; we also have headphones and ethernet cables available at the front desk. Unfortunately, we do not currently have laptops or laptop chargers to loan. 

What materials are available in the resource room? 

We have most basic office supplies (pens and pencils, colored pencils, crayons, chart and whiteboard markers, paper, cardstock, paper clips, staplers, tape, 3-hole punch, etc.). We also have a printer/copy machine; a laminator; a comb binder; and die cut machines, all available for students to use for free at any time.